10 things I learnt from my Consumerism Challenge. Keep it Simple Sweetheart!

Image

Keep it Simple Sweetheart!

A few people have asked me of late “how did I go with my consumerism challenge?” If you want to know what the challenge involved see my blog from earlier in the year. https://ruminatingwithoutcows.wordpress.com/2013/02/27/enoughism-already-consumerism-and-parenting-the-impact-on-our-children/

So here goes the 10 things I learnt from my consumerism challenge 2013.

1.   It’s almost impossible not to participate in consumerism in a capitalist world and before you get your knickers in a knot and say you didn’t try hard enough, give it a go first, and see how you go? It was tough going but worth it because I have reduced my consumption.

 

2.   I will not pay real money for virtual things ever. Virtual makeovers and Candy Crush will not see my hard earned dollars.

  

3.   I’m not as strong as I thought I was and I do have a problem with spending money (there it’s out there my partner will be happy). It was like I was addicted to the pleasure of spending money on whatever gave me short term satisfaction. I found it hard to give up the things I loved that brought me comfort, good food and coffee I failed at.

 4.   I am however a more conscious shopper now. I’m more aware of where I want my dollar to go, keep it local, simple and support the little ethical people before big unethical companies. I am struggling with the palm oil thing as it’s in everything, including my favourite chocolates, you bastards. It does sux that convenience buying is so easy (online Coles grocery items delivered to your door), because for a working parent that is very attractive.

5.   I enjoy the simple things more now. I’m happy when we can go on an outing as a family and spend a minimal amount and still have loads of fun. These are the best days.

 

6.   I don’t need to impress others with things they love me regardless (phew). You might think be thinking well I don’t do that anyway, have a look around your home what did you spend your money on recently was it to make your home more beautiful who are we really trying to impress?

 

 7.   Finding or consciously looking for other pleasures in life means I have learnt new things and discovered different hobbies and friends. Opening my mind up to different ways to reward myself that is simple has been the best gift from this challenge.

 8.   Marketing is powerful and it’s absolutely everywhere, being conscious of this and trying hard to resist the customised selling has been a challenge. I am however getting good a recognising the little sneaky tricks and best of all the kids have too.

  

9.   Don’t put an end date on your challenge. It’s kind of like a diet once it’s finished you gorge yourself. Diets or challenges don’t change behaviours long term, the only thing that will shift this behaviour is long term lifestyle changes and attitude shifts from increased awareness and knowledge.

 

10. Finally I have found I love home grown veggies the best nothing in the world quite so satisfying than growing your own food for your family. 

7 comments

  1. I have wondered how it went. Good for you, I am not sure if I could do it. I love that you made quite a few ‘little’ changes for the future, that makes it achievable for all of us.

    Like

  2. Good on you Tracy – I didn’t read this until I had a cuppa to enjoy with the news! Next blog maybe an expansion on …:Finding or consciously looking for other pleasures in life means I have learnt new things and discovered different hobbies and friends. Opening my mind up to different ways to reward myself that is simple has been the best gift from this challenge”. That would be lush 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

